01905 42 88 63

Testimonials

‘We fully expected to have a long and drawn out tribunal process. However, today…….(the LA) have ‘phoned and said they will be naming (Independent Specialist Provider for PDA) and J is to go for assessment on Thursday and Friday of this week!!!!

We are in shock and still can’t believe it! We just want to thank you so very, very much for the fantastic report you wrote which not only will have influenced their decision and their knowledge that it would be very credible at a tribunal – but has also enabled us to understand J much better and to articulate the challenges he faces so much more clearly. This is an opportunity that could change J’s life….and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for that.’

Ms P  September 2017

‘The reality is that you have made a world of difference and without you our position would not be so strong, it is also unlikely that the council would have ever agreed to the provider of our choice without knowing we were being guided by your input which has significantly tipped the scale.

You have been so wonderful to us and a solid rock through the most difficult of times (even under the most extreme circumstances of your own). I don’t feel there are words to express just how much we appreciate what you have done – it means the world to have someone who truly cares about the quality of service they deliver and someone in this dying age of professionalism who genuinely maintains the standards… you are a rare find and a true diamond in a world of fakes!

 

Thank you from all of us

P’

July 2017

‘Dear Hilary,

I have now read through the report and it is extremely comprehensive and exactly what I was looking for in order to help K.

I feel confident that this report is so comprehensive that it will be very helpful in not only meeting K’s educational needs, but will also encourage a re-review of his health needs (as you have very succinctly highlighted).

Thank you very much Hilary.’

Summer 2017

‘I just wanted to drop you a line to advise that we have been successful in securing (independent specialist ASD College) for J.  It was an enormous battle with the LA but we settled yesterday to avoid the Tribunal today. J will be going on a 44 week basis with all therapies we asked for, an amazing result.

Your report was very valuable, our barrister commented on how good it was 🙂 so thank you for that.’

September 2017

‘Dr Dyer agreed with the existing diagnoses of ASD and with Dr C’s conclusions about PDA, which Dr Dyer said arises from and is part of N’s ASD. She made detailed recommendations for provision’

‘Dr Dyer carried out a very thorough assessment of N. In particular she carried out formal testing and observed N both at home and at ES.’

‘We found Dr Dyer’s report to be a thoughtful and nuanced description of the special educational provision which is required to meet N’s needs.’

‘We amended part 3 accordingly, adding to the provision Dr Dyer’s key specific recommendations’.

‘We noted that it is the type of school specifically recommended by Dr Dyer whose report we had found to be robust and persuasive’

Judge Michele Michaelson, Tribunal Judge, 30th January 2017 (SE867/16/00001)

‘We found the independent reports to be carefully considered and highly persuasive’

Judge Catherine Mather, 30th March 2016 (EH335/15/00007)

‘The written and oral professional evidence on the parents’ side has been compelling’

‘Dr Dyer clearly has specialist knowledge of PDA, based on professional and research experience and we accept, on balance, that A is showing explicit features of PDA. This is important because it is likely that strategies to address his particular difficulties many not flow directly from conventional ASD methodology’

‘The LA has been unable to explain its refusal to accept that A’s presentation would suggest a diagnosis of PDA, or that he has a sensory processing disorder. We accept the parental evidence on both those issues’.

Judge Margaret Richards, 1st April 2015 (SE830/14/00045)

The quality and standard of the report is very high indeed. We are very impressed with it all and we feel you have really understood H’s current needs and level of support he actually needs given his challenges and special needs.

Mr & Mrs A,  Feb 2016

Thank you for all your help Hilary. You really did help me to know which way to turn when I was at a complete loss. Thank you ever so much

Carly xxx

 

We did it !!!! Thanks so much Hilary xx

 

(LA has accepted my PDA diagnosis, amended the Statement  and named an out of borough specialist placement  at part 4,  without a SENTW appeal !)

 

Thanks Hilary! It’s such a relief having your support with EHC Plan! It’s such a minefield…. Those poor children who have no help – they all end up sectioned,  or in prison.  It’s a huge tragedy.  Thank goodness for people like you! So glad I found you!

Jan 2016

Hi Hilary,

I would like to thank you for all your support to both myself, H and C. C really enjoyed her games with you! We really do appreciate all your hard work and dedication.

J, December 2015

Hi Hilary,

We have come to an 11th hour agreement with council re A and they have agreed to each issue we have raised. (We) have therefore withdrawn our appeal.  (LA) have in this instance been supportive and although we can’t predict what the future will bring for A, we feel we have got everything that we would have got for her from the appeal and then some!!

The 5 hours with (specialist outreach provision) are for teachers at home, with the additional hours agreed for tutors she currently has. So county will now take over financing all current private lessons and travel etc.

Thank you so very much for all your help in getting A the education that she needs to succeed and is able to access.

If we can help in any way with research you are doing please don’t hesitate to ask. We are more than happy to help.

Kind regards

J, S,  A and M.

‘Wonderful, very informative. Thank you very much. It’s fired me up for the fight!’ Rachel, Parent

‘Excellent, thank you! Very enlightening’ BBC Journalist and parent.

‘Excellent informative talk with coherent panorama of advice’  David, Parent of 8 year old with PDA

‘Full of great information and guidance. Very friendly and informal- felt totally at ease’ Gail, Parent

‘Very informative. Answered many of my queries and cleared up my understanding of PDA’ Rebecca

‘Extremely informative. The presentation has clarified the PDA profile’. Raechel

‘It’s really useful to know someone with a particular interest (in PDA) and of someone who I can refer on to for more specific support and advice.’

‘Dr Dyer clearly has specialist knowledge of PDA, based on professional and research experience, and we accept that A is showing explicit features of PDA. This is important because it is likely that strategies to address his particular difficulties may not flow from conventional ASD methodology.

‘The written and oral professional evidence on the parents’ side has been compelling’.

SEND Tribunal Judge Margaret Richards, 2015 (SE830/14/00045)

‘Please accept this as a personal thank you for everything Hilary.  We really could not have got this far without you.  You have been an amazing source of knowledge, support and strength and I would highly recommend you to anyone who had need of your services.

Warmest regards’

J & DM

October 2015

 

‘You are like a light in a dark place, certainly for me, for all these young people. (YP) said that you are perfect!

Warmest wishes, Mrs B

August  2015

‘Dear Hilary,

Thank you so much for yesterday! It has been so helpful for us and lifted a huge worry of our shoulders. I am not sure about A, but I certainly did sleep better.

Again, thank you so much for yesterday, and your continued help and support. A and A were still talking about you hours after you left, so they really enjoyed having you here too.

Thank you so much!

Best wishes and kind regards’

[The D-G Family]

August 2015

Email from parents following assessment for, and diagnosis of, 10 year old with PDA

‘Dear Dr Dyer,

Once again, thanks for the astonishing speed of your response and the very helpful  suggestions as to the way forward which I will now pass on to all parties.

With best regards’

Solicitor, County Council, Child Protection Section,

 

July 2015

‘Hi Hilary,

WE WON!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Can’t quite believe it! They decided (residential specialist school) was cheaper, (mainstream secondary) couldn’t meet her needs and she needed a specialist dyslexia teacher.

Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for all of your hard work and dedication – we couldn’t have done it without you.’

Mrs L (mum)

July 2015

‘Hi Hilary,

Thanks for everything you have done. It’s just sickening that (YP) didn’t get the help he needed despite our many requests and communications.

I’m so pleased I ‘googled’ and found you! You are perfect for (YP) – he said you are a very feisty lady with a great personality! He thinks you’re fabulous.

Warmest wishes from us all, Mrs B’

July 2015

‘Hi Hilary,

(YP) is very happy with your diagnosis of PDA! He has relaxed. So am I happy. Its so good to go from suspecting to knowing. To have a confirmed diagnosis is quite liberating!

Many, many thanks. You were wonderful with him it was educational to see.

Warmest wishes P’

June 2015

‘We have just been notified that J will be attending (independent specialist) School..  J is very happy about the news and is excited to start.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the crucial part that you played in getting J into (independent specialist school) and the Statementing process beforehand.  He is a lucky boy to have such dedicated professionals working with him, in his best interest.

Thank you and kind regards’

Mr & Mrs G (parents) June 2015

‘We will always be grateful to you for confirming our suspicions, putting it in writing and then playing an absolute blinder at the tribunal hearing. You are worth your weight in gold.’

 

Mr & Mrs S  June 2015 following my PDA diagnosis of their son,  and SEND Tribunal Hearing.

‘There is absolutely no one better for the job than you’

‘Both your reports were stunning and I work with many different psychologists.  And you were completely right about the dyscalculia and dysgraphia.’

 

Dear Hilary

I am delighted to report that we were successful in our appeal. We have got the placement at S, with 2 nights residential.

I wanted to sincerely thank you for all your help and advice. I don’t think we could have done it without you.

Very best wishes

 

 

‘Hi Hilary, thanks very much for this report, fantastic. You have an incredible attention to detail. I’ve never read a draft report with fewer typos. A continues to enjoy her time at (new school), and we’re really pleased.

We hope all is well with you, we are very grateful to have found you, and have the benefit of your expertise and wisdom.

All the best, enjoy the weekend.’

 

 

Dear Hilary,

We have just been told that G has been offered a place at DH School with transport. Just waiting for written confirmation but he should be starting after Feb half term. Huge relief.

Thanks for all your help and support.

 

 

 

 

Hi Hilary,

Thank you so much for all of your help and support, it really is appreciated and the smile on K’s face last night was worth every single second of the stress of the last year or so.

(LA conceded at Hearing – Appeal against a Note in Lieu)

‘Dear Hilary

Thank you very much for all your hard work and dedication.

I have forwarded a copy of your report to the LA and await their response.

Best wishes

Sarah’

‘Thank you again for speaking to our group last week. You got rave reviews! Everyone was so impressed by you’

‘Hi Dr Hilary,

Good news! Local Authority has approved the H school fees for J. The school wants him to start in September 2014. Thank you for your assistance’

‘Dear Hilary,

Thank you so much for your report. It is very thorough and exactly what we wanted.  Very many thanks to you for all of your help, advice, and support through all of this. We are very grateful indeed. I will certainly let you know how things go, and you will be our lady should we have to take this to tribunal!’

‘Thank you for being you and for being so utterly wonderful with A. You really understand him, and it was great to see him tune in with you on the assessment day.’

‘Hi Hilary,

We got the tribunal decision/order paperwork over the weekend. We are pleased that our appeal, with the support of our expert witnesses was successful :

‘we have concluded that C’s SEN can be met at [school name] only if he is allocated a place in the ASD Base, and amended part 3 accordingly’.

 

‘Thank you for your very accurate and detailed report… Both feeling much more confident after reading your report. Thank you again’

‘Dr Hilary Dyer was the only Independent Educational Psychologist that I had spoken to who I felt not only understood and had experience dealing with my son’s multiple disabilities, but was also willing to take on our case as my son was being independently educated.

She was very prompt at sending me further information. Her wealth of experience in her field was very apparent and her attention to detail evident.

I commissioned her to do a full assessment of my son. Whilst she assessed my son she spoke slowly and carefully, and took as much time as was needed to complete all of the tests. She also spent further time at my son’s school to get a full picture of my child’s needs.

Dr Hilary Dyer was there every step of the way to offer advice and to help me with some of the more legal aspects that had arisen.

She has gone above and beyond the remit that was originally agreed, and has been a constant source of advice and knowledge.

I would have no hesitation in recommending her to other parents in my situation.’

 

Extracts from Letter from Dr K to Mr & Mrs F, parents of H

‘The very detailed report from the Independent Educational Psychologist Dr Hilary Dyer puts forward the diagnosis of Pathological Demand Avoidance as an explanation…. Without doubt Pathological Demand Avoidance is a key feature of his behaviour and Dr Hilary Dyer has made some excellent recommendations to be used in the school setting to help with this…. The many recommendations made by Dr Hilary Dyer should be put in place.

‘Hi Hilary, I thought you might like to read the attached letter from H’s Paediatrician, which following the 3Di assessment confirms ASD. She was also very impressed with your report and previously didn’t want to entertain PDA. However since reading your report she has recognised it as part of his diagnosis and has supported your recommendations. Thank you again. Another step forward on our journey.’

 

Hillary,

Really enjoyed the training last night and found it very informative.

 

I found the PDA seminar very interesting and informative and it gave me more confidence to tackle issues regarding P’s schooling. I brought P’s PA, who is a teacher at M Special School. She was very impressed also and has spoken to the Headmistress who has shown an interest in you possibly coming to school to do a talk to other staff members.

Thank you again, it would be lovely to support your efforts in research for PDA.

Kind Regards   K

Hi Hilary,

It was nice to meet you finally. I’m grateful for your commitment and recognition of PDA.

Sensory issues do seem to be very prominent in PDA. The booklet we hope to get funding for has a large section on sensory issues and Phil (Christie) has certainly looked this over and endorsed its production.

Thanks for your very helpful update and do keep in touch

Margo

‘Hello Hillary
Lots of time has passed and I thought I would let you know how things are. We
think of you often and your report has bought so many benefits to B that we
would never have dreamt possible. I occasionally hear of your work through
other families.  Take care of yourself and thanks again for everything you
did.’

‘We were so impressed with the diligent and compassionate approach of your assessment of our daughter’s needs. Your wide expertise and natural instincts for what is important has provided us with a very clear and powerful report, and we value your friendship which we have also gained in the process.’

‘As parents of 3 children on the autistic spectrum with additional diagnoses and statements of SEN, we know just how hard it is to battle for the education which we know our children need. When we first contacted Hilary, we were distressed and worried about the prospect of numerous assessments for our son and also about how he would cope. Hilary interacted with our son on a level with which he engaged and was understood. After observing the thorough assessment and reading her detailed report, it was clear to us that she understood his strengths as well as his weaknesses. She has been very supportive throughout and has answered our (many) questions swiftly making us feel supported by a true professional. Thank you for everything, and fingers crossed for the battle ahead!’

“We saw Dr M today – he was incredibly impressed with your report.”

“We engaged Dr Hilary Dyer to conduct a full assessment of our son in June 2013. He had been diagnosed with ASD and ADHD the June before. He had started in mainstream school in September 2012, but was still unable to attend for more than three hours a day by May 2013, which is when I contacted Hilary (she’s ‘Hilary’ to parents!!). We were in the throes of the Statement process, having been issued a wholly inadequate proposed statement of SEN, which was based almost entirely on the LEA Educational Psychologists assessment of my son. I had been very disappointed in this assessment as it did not reflect my son’s needs at all. I continue to wonder how someone can claim to professionally ‘assess’ a child with special needs in the space of 10 minutes…

From our very first contact with Hilary, she was enthusiastic, deeply interested in our case and flexible – our timescales were very tight. She was the first professional who actually spent a significant amount of time with our son – she assessed him in our home for over five hours and then spent half a day in school with him the following day. We were therefore very confident in her assessment and professional recommendations. Hilary remained sympathetic to our situation and indeed our finances. We had a 12 week old baby and I was on maternity leave at the time and she was very careful to ensure every second of her time was accounted for – and used very wisely! She even helped out holding the baby for me when my son needed my attention!

I had read up a little on PDA and mentioned my suspicions to Hilary but she remained open minded and completed her assessments and research before making the diagnosis. Her report was incredibly thorough and she had meticulously gone through all the reports and pieces of evidence I had sent her before diagnosing my son with PDA. Again, she remained sympathetic to the blow this diagnosis could bring, but also positive in explaining that the strategies that we were already using instinctively were the best for our son.

Following her diagnosis, she advised me on questions we should ask his potential educational placement and we are pleased to report that he is now attending an ASD special school, which specialise in PDA.

We recently had an appointment with our NHS paediatrician, who was highly impressed with Hilary’s report. So much so that he decided that our son needn’t undergo any further assessments and he is in complete agreement with Dr Dyer’s diagnosis – he even went so far as to say that he couldn’t have done such a thorough assessment himself! We also shared Hilary’s report with our son’s new school who were delighted to have such a detailed description of his needs and indeed the strategies that should be applied.

Recruiting Hilary to join ‘Team H’ represented a turning point in our crusade to help our son. She has enabled us to understand him better, to be more tolerant of his demand avoidance and has helped equip us with tools and strategies to meet his needs more appropriately. She was a delight to work with and made us feel very supported throughout a very challenging time.
We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Hilary to parents or guardians of children with special needs – especially if they suspect PDA. Her knowledge in this area is second to none.”

“Dear Hilary,

Thank you so much. We are over the moon with the report.

I am just in the process of writing to the LEA and will let you know how things progress.

It was a pleasure to have you on our team and a breath of fresh air to come across someone so thorough and committed to their work.We thank you very much for all you have done and will contact you if we need any more help!

Many thanks and best wishes”

“Dear Hilary,

Thank you so much for this amazing report, it is fantastic. I will now write a covering letter to the LEA requesting changes to statement and school placement.

I will be in touch.”

“Hi Hilary

Many thanks for the report. My husband and I will check through this and will revert.

Really appreciate your efforts.”

“Dear Hilary,

I have just returned from a week’s holiday to find the B decision has arrived – a clear decision in our favour!”

“Hi Hilary,

Hope you are well.

Thought you may like to know that we have received notification from the Tribunal and we have won our appeal. Many thanks for the time and effort you put in to the process, I’m sure that your report helped us to gain this result.

Many thanks again”

“Dear Hilary,
I had a good constructive meeting with the LA yesterday, even if we had to disagree over the 52/40 week main issue. However, we were able to agree most of the amendments to the statement save for this.  We have agreed that there will be no need to call educational psychology witnesses on either side – your excellent report will stand as good evidence for the panel.  Thank you for the time you spent with the (family) which is much appreciated by them and me. I will therefore not need you to attend on Friday next week as a witness, but will let you know the outcome.”

“I consider it very fortunate that I discovered Dr Hilary Dyer’s details when in desperation I was searching for someone to help us with our son and his Special Educational Needs.

From the very first contact we found Dr Dyer to be very knowledgeable, understanding and approachable. We were always able to discuss our concerns in depth and communication was always prompt and very informative. Whenever we needed to contact Dr Dyer, whether by phone or email, this was always easily achieved.

I instructed Dr Hilary Dyer to assess and produce a report for us regarding our son’s Special Educational Needs and through out this process Dr Dyer was professional, prompt and extremely thorough. Fortunately travelling the long distance to London was of no impediment and Dr Dyer arrived promptly and swiftly got down to the task at hand after counselling us precisely on what methods of assessment would be implemented and the general schedule for the day that would be followed which prepared us fully for the day ahead.

Dr Dyer always presented a positive and clear plan of action which guided us through the minefield of SEN. Throughout the whole process we felt supported and empowered by Dr Dyers very specific recommendations when we often found ourselves in the midst of chaos. The institutions that we thought would guide us and help our son presented the main obstacles to accessing his rightful education but Dr Dyer always presented us with the solution to any obstacle we encountered and we were always very much central to any decisions that were made.

Dr Dyer completed an extensive and very necessary assessment of our son in our home and initially we thought this would potentially be stressful for our son and an intrusive experience for us, but we were very wrong.

From the moment Dr Dyer entered our home we were put at ease by her warmth and kindness to us all and her innate ability to put our son at ease and make the most arduous tasks seem like child’s play.

From observing Dr Dyer throughout the day she interacted effortlessly with our son, who is 6 years old and not co-operative at the best of times, communicated effectively and in a manner that immediately put our son at ease but engaged him in whichever activity that needed completing over the period of 6 long hours of assessment. The time seemed to fly by and rarely was there any opposition or defiance shown by our son that Dr Dyer did not handle calmly showing our son the utmost care and respect to which he responded with compliance to the tasks at hand.

Dr Dyer involved us in all stages of compiling the report and always requested feedback in regards to any corrections and the final draft was received very swiftly via email and then as a hardcopy which meant that it was highly portable and always to hand to refer to in the abundance of meetings held with the LEA. We were presented with an aesthetically impeccable and extremely insightful, accurate and constructive document which utilised all the extensive evidence Dr Dyer had accumulated via questionnaire, assessment and personal observation of our son.

We were quite astonished by the level of understanding of our son that Dr Dyer had achieved in such a short space of time and in only one personal meeting and this was replicated effortlessly and in great depth throughout the reports we received. Dr Dyer was the first to indicate to us that our son presented with Autism and ADHD and she did this in a very kind and sympathetic manner it was not such a devastating blow but more an affirmation of our suspicions.

This documentation proved to be pivotal in us achieving a placement in an outstanding independent specialist school which otherwise we would have had to go to appeal but the LEA was not able to dispute the evidence presented in Dr Dyer’s report.

I believe that Dr Dyer would be beneficial to any organisation as the skills of communication, empathy, boundless knowledge,experience and profound insightfulness she possesses and her natural charisma, dedication and enthusiasm she brings to her job would be vital to the success of any institution and more importantly to the parents and children she would be providing and invaluable service to.

I hope this is of some help and I have tried to keep the information as concise and relevant as possible but Dr Dyer, I believe has a deep understanding and insight into the needs and functions of the more “complex” child.”

“Hi Hilary

Thanks for confirming.

Yes, we heard yesterday. Good news! We got the the 1.5 hours every two weeks for an asd teacher! Not the nvq level 3 but it does say that the lsa should be trained and experienced in asd. ot wise, an hour every week with access to the swinging equipment.

Obviously we are really pleased with this result and thank you again for all your help from beginning to end.”